Wyoming Highway Patrol commissions four new troopers

L to R Row 1: Colonel Kebin Haller, Lieutenant Colonel Shannon Ratliff L to R Row 2: Major Keith Groeneweg, Trooper Elijah T. Ellis-Hathaway, Major Joshua Walther L to R Row 3: Troopers Caleb Hobbs, Andrew K. Kelly L to R Row 4: Captain Derek Mickelson, Trooper Benjamin D. Hockett, Sergeant Kyle McKay L to R Row 5: Sergeant Momen Elazizi, Sergeant Randy Starkey, Lieutenant David Wagener

CHEYENNE, Wyo. (KOTA TV) - Four recruits have been commissioned as troopers for the Wyoming Highway Patrol including one in Gillette.

Trooper Elijah T. Ellis-Hathaway was sworn in at the Wyoming Supreme Court on Thursday in front of family and friends. Trooper Ellis-Hathaway received the Top Academic Award and Top Fitness Award.

The new troopers received training in firearms, commercial carrier, physical training, RADAR/LIDAR, emergency vehicle operation, custody and control, crash investigation and other training totaling more than 1,210 hours.

The 94th graduating class of the Wyoming Highway Patrol Academy includes:
-Trooper Elijah T. Ellis-Hathaway (Gillette)-recipient of the Top Academic Award and Top Fitness Award
-Trooper Caleb Hobbs (Hanna)-recipient of the Colonel’s Leadership Award
-Trooper Benjamin D. Hockett (Lander)-recipient of the Top Firearms Award and Most Improved Fitness Award
-Andrew J. Kelly (Rock River)