Washington now allows South Dakotans to carry concealed weapons

Published: Oct. 10, 2018 at 2:13 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

South Dakotans with enhanced concealed carry permits are now allowed to carry in Washington.

According to the Secretary of State’s office, negotiations with Washington took three years before the state was added. Now, South Dakota’s enhanced permit is valid in 38 states; however, some states require the permit holder to be at least 21 years old (see related link).

South Dakota is currently negotiating with New Mexico to allow enhanced permit holders to carry.

The number of states that recognize the South Dakota gold card permit is 32 and for the state’s regular permit it is 31.

With New Mexico pending, only 10 states do not honor South Dakota carry permits. These are: California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Oregon and Rhode Island.