Here comes Obama

Only a few people will see the finished President Obama statue before its unveiling. But we...
Only a few people will see the finished President Obama statue before its unveiling. But we have a sneak peak to share, thanks to the artist. (KOTA)
Published: Jan. 31, 2019 at 12:42 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

President Barack Obama is coming to Rapid City, at least a bronze likeness of the 44th president.

The City of Presidents announced the statue will be completed and unveiled in July 2019.

We now know the Obama statue will be standing and waving, but co-founder for the City of Presidents, Dallerie Davis said the statue will be more interesting.

"We found out that a standing guy who is waving is rather boring and the one thing we don't want to do is have a boring statue on the street, particularly someone like President Obama. He deserves a statue that isn't boring," Davis said.

The organization will not release where Obama will be placed; only that the statue will be highly accessible to everyone who comes through Rapid City.

And, excitement for the newest statue is growing.

"We've had a lot of people indicate that they plan on coming from all over the United States. It's remarkable to me how much interest there is. We've had a number of people throughout the United States who say be sure to let us know when it is happening, we will be there. I feel we will have a really good audience for that one," Davis said.

James Van Nuys, the artist says "It's the first of the four statues I've done for the City of Presidents where it is somebody people will recognize. The other three were from the 1850s and I don't think anyone had a strong emotional attachment to them, so it's nice to do someone people are interested in."

James Michael Maher was announced as the sculptor for the statue of President Donald Trump. His statue will not be done until after his term.

Maher has already created five statues for the City of Presidents. They include, Abraham Lincoln, Ronald Reagan, Lyndon B. Johnson, George W. Bush and James Buchanan.