Blizzard shuts down state government offices

PIERRE, S.D. (KOTA TV) Due to the expected severe weather, state government offices in 39 central and western South Dakota counties are closed Wednesday.
The announcement came from Governor Kristi Noem’s office early Wednesday morning. Each of the counties with closures have either part of a blizzard warning or a winter storm warning issued by the National Weather Service. There is a high probability of ice, strong winds and heavy snow accumulation. Flooding is also expected in some areas. The storm is expected to continue through Thursday.
The counties included are: Beadle, Bennett, Brown, Brule, Buffalo, Butte, Campbell, Charles Mix, Corson, Custer, Dewey, Edmunds, Fall River, Faulk, Gregory, Haakon, Hand, Harding, Hughes, Hyde, Jackson, Jerauld, Jones, Lawrence, Lyman, McPherson, Meade, Mellette, Oglala Lakota, Pennington, Perkins, Potter, Spink, Stanley, Sully, Tripp, Todd, Walworth and Ziebach.
Only essential personnel within state offices in those counties are being asked to report to their work stations. No decision was made on further state-office closures.