Rapid City mayor, council members sworn in for new term - KOTA Territory News

Rapid City mayor, council members sworn in for new term


Rapid City Mayor Sam Kooiker along with newly elected members of the city council were sworn into office tonight.

Family and friends were invited to  watch as members took their oaths of office.

Mayor Sam Kooiker was sworn in by Seventh Circuit Judge Janine Kern.

Members sworn in tonight include Ward 1 Councilwoman Charity Doyle, Ward 2 Councilman Ritchie Nordstrom, Ward 3 Councilman Jerry Wright, Ward 4 Councilman John Roberts, and Ward 5 Councilman Brad Estes.

Members say they look forward to continuing to serve Rapid City and are hoping  to put some of the past differences behind them. 

"I'm hoping we can come together a little better as a council, more than we were last year," Said Roberts. 

"I think that continuity is something that has been lacking for so long and I'm very grateful and excited we get to exercise that for the next couple of years,"said Doyle

Ward 3 Councilman Jerry Wright was voted the new city council president and ward 4 Councilwoman Amanda Scott was voted  vice president.

Powered by WorldNow

518 St. Joseph St.
Rapid City, SD 57701

Telephone: 605.342.2000
Fax: 605.342.7305

Couldn't find what you were looking for?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - WorldNow and KOTA. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.