Petitions are in for municipal and school board elections

By  | 

RAPID CITY S.D. (KOTA TV) - Tuesday was the deadline day to submit petitions for the Rapid City municipal elections and school board.

While there will be some heated races, mayor will not be among them.

The only candidate to enter the race is the incumbent, Steve Allender.

Since there are no challengers, Allender has been re–elected to a second two year term.

Others running for re-election include Richie Nordstrom in Ward 2 challenged by Charles Henrie and Daniel Petersen.

Incumbent John Roberts is running against Helen Usera in ward 4.

Former council member Ron Sasso, Laura Armstrong and Tony Demaro will be running for Brad Estes seat in ward 5.

Charity Doyle will not be seeking re-election, so Becky Drury and Vince Vidal will compete for a seat in ward 1.

Chad Lewis is unopposed and will be the alderman in ward 3 for a three year term.

In the race for the board of the Rapid City Area School District, Christine Stephenson and Tonchi Weaver are running for Ed McLaughlins spot in Area 5.

Mike Roseler is the only candidate in Area 4.

All elections will be held on June 6.